Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
17th out of 51 at District Meet
By Staff Reports
Saturday, February 27, 2016

ROCKY RIVER --  The Longhorn wrestlers advanced one to the state tournament.  Defending state champion, junior James Handwerk advanced to the state tournament with his second straight district crown.  Handwerk defeated Gaige Willis of Pymatuning Valley 3-1 in the district semi-final.  Willis was 8th in the state last season.  Handwerk then pinned Josh Bialosky of Beachwood in the championship match.  Freshmen Parker Watson was pinned in his second round consolation bout to the eventual 6th placer and Senior Kevin Naim finished out his high school career with a heartbreaking double overtime loss. 
 
Handwerk will continue his quest for a second state title on Thursday with an opening round bout against Josh Pearson of Ghahnna Columbus Academy.  Wrestling begins at 3pm and fans can follow the action here
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 11/25/15
 
Sat 12/5/15
3rd out of 8
Fri 12/11/15
58th out of 95
Sat 12/12/15
50th out of 95
Sat 12/19/15
9th out of 13
Sun 12/27/15
37th after day 1
Mon 12/28/15
34th out of 55
Thu 1/7/16
L, 66-17
Thu 1/7/16
L, 57-22
Fri 1/8/16
10th out of 15
Sat 1/9/16
10th out of 15
Thu 1/14/16
L, 48-30
Thu 1/14/16
L, 54-12
Thu 1/21/16
W, 45-30
Thu 1/21/16
L, 42-35
Wed 1/27/16
L, 42-30
Thu 1/28/16
L, 42-32
Thu 1/28/16
L, 45-30
Sat 2/6/16
8th out of 12
Thu 2/11/16
@Kirtland
 
Thu 2/11/16
@Kirtland
 
Sat 2/20/16
7th out of 14
Fri 2/26/16
17th out of 51
Sat 2/27/16
17th out of 51
Thu 3/3/16
22nd out of 113
Fri 3/4/16
17th out of 113
Sat 3/5/16
15th out of 113
2015-16 Coach Dave Ressler
1997-98 through current
2015-16 Varsity Wrestling
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!