Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
5th out of 13 at Sectionals
By Staff Reports
Saturday, February 15, 2014

SECTIONALS --  The wrestling team had a great showing at the Independence sectional, finishing with 103 team points and in 5th place out of 13 teams. The team advanced 5 wrestlers to the Garfield Heights District and one alternate. Placing for the Longhorns were junior Jacob Ressler with a 4-0 win in the finals to place 3rd at 113. The Longhorns had two champions in junior captain Tim Mecklenburg (126lbs), who won 2-0 to claim his second straight sectional title and senior captain Jake DeLorge with a first period pin to win the title at 152. Freshman James Handwerk advanced to the 1st place final but came up short, 5-4 and finished as a sectional runner-up at 160. Junior Kristian Bremer bumped up to heavyweight and came away with a 4th place finish, losing 4-2 in the finals. Sophomore Kevin Naim is a district alternate at 132 after winning his 5th place match 9-0.

Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Sat 11/23/13
44th
Sat 11/30/13
2nd out of 10
Thu 12/12/13
L, 36-30
Thu 12/12/13
L, 33-24
Fri 12/13/13
No Team Score
Thu 12/19/13
L, 57-14
Thu 12/19/13
W, 41-28
Sat 12/21/13
13th out of 14
Fri 12/27/13
43rd out of 44
Fri 1/3/14
15th out of 16
Thu 1/16/14
W, 38-24
Thu 1/16/14
W, 43-24
Wed 1/22/14
W, 60-0
Wed 1/22/14
W, 18-60
Thu 1/23/14
W, 52-24
Thu 1/23/14
L, 45-30
Thu 1/30/14
W, 66-6
Thu 1/30/14
W, 34-29
Sat 2/1/14
5th out of 12
Sat 2/15/14
5th out of 13
Fri 2/21/14
16th out of 54
Thu 2/27/14
41st after day 1
Fri 2/28/14
28th after day 2
2013-14 Coach Dave Ressler
1997-98 through current
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!