Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
8th out of 12 at PAC-12 Championship
By Dave Ressler  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Saturday, February 11, 2012

PAC-12 CHAMPIONSHIP -- 
The Lutheran West Wrestling Team finished eighth at the PAC-12 Tournament, placing five wrestlers.  The Longhorns brought ten varsity wrestlers to the tournament at Columbia High School.  Reaching the semi-finals were Tim Mecklenburg (106), Bryce Deblock (113), Ryan Rusnak (126), Andrew Liese (160) and Zach Prah (285).  Deblock and Rusnak were able to win their semi-final matches to advance to the first place finals.  Mecklenburg, Liese and Prah all dropped down to the consolation bracket and had to win their next match to get into the third place finals.  After dropping his first match, C.J. McNamee came back to win two straight to also reach the consolation semi-finals. 
 
In the consolation semi-finals Mecklenburg advanced with a 17-0 technical fall; Liese secured a third period pin to advance and Prah pinned his Columbia opponent for his first high school victory and also advanced to the 3rd place finals.
 
In the finals Mecklenburg took on Meehan from Brooklyn and quickly got two takedowns and back points before getting the pin in the second period to place third.  Deblock faced 2011 state placer Hozen from Black River in the championship bout.  After securing two takedowns and back points, Hozen got the second period pin and Deblock settled for runner-up honors.  After scoring the first point in the match at 126lbs, Rusnak was unable to hold off Hollingsworth from Clearview and fell 8-1 to also finish second.  Liese poured on nine straight points in his third place final against Quiles from Brookside to win 9-1.  Prah had to settle for fourth after being pinned in the second period by Dewitt from Firelands. 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/2/11
W, 36-22
Sat 12/3/11
1st out of 8
Thu 12/8/11
W, 42-37
Thu 12/8/11
L, 63-17
Sat 12/10/11
7th
Thu 12/15/11
W, 60-5
Thu 12/15/11
L, 32-30
Sat 12/17/11
10th out of 14
Fri 12/23/11
10th out of 15
Thu 1/5/12
W, 54-27
Thu 1/5/12
L, 44-30
Thu 1/12/12
W, 41-27
Thu 1/12/12
L, 39-33
Sat 1/14/12
W, 47-24
Sat 1/14/12
W, 48-21
Thu 1/19/12
W, 57-16
Thu 1/19/12
W, 60-16
Thu 1/26/12
L, 47-35
Thu 1/26/12
L, 40-36
Sat 2/4/12
8th out of 10
Sat 2/11/12
8th out of 12
Sat 2/18/12
6th
Sat 2/25/12
30th
Thu 3/1/12
94th out of 121
2011-12 Coach Dave Ressler
1997-98 through current
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!