Elyria Catholic 47, Lutheran West 27
By Katelin Snable  
LutheranWest.com staff
Saturday, February 22, 2014

ELYRIA CATHOLIC --  The Longhorns headed into a tough first game to start off the tournament. The girls saw Elyria Catholic earlier in the season and knew what they needed to work on.
 
The extra preparation for the game wasn't enough though. Despite stalwart defense, Lutheran West couldn't topple host Elyria Catholic. Turnovers and sloppy passes seemed to be the Longhorns' biggest problems. Turnovers gave Elyria Catholic many more opportunities to score which they took advantage of.
 
Although the Longhorns could not pull out a win, they held the Panthers to a 22.9% field goal percentage and only gave up 3 of the 26 three pointers that EC attempted.  It wasn't enough as EC out-rebounded LW 54 to 26.
 
Senior Katelyn Thornton and sophomore Abby DeSimpelare led the team both having seven points.
 
Elyria Catholic beat Lutheran West 47-27 ending the girls’ season earlier then they had hoped for.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 11/26/13
L, 57-31
Sat 11/30/13
W, 42-29
Mon 12/2/13
L, 56-31
Wed 12/4/13
W, 35-34
Sat 12/7/13
L, 46-31
Wed 12/11/13
L, 41-35
Mon 12/16/13
L, 52-36
Wed 12/18/13
L, 51-27
Sat 12/21/13
W, 43-22
Sat 1/4/14
W, 35-34
Wed 1/8/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 1/11/14
W, 34-19
Mon 1/13/14
L, 42-40
Wed 1/15/14
L, 43-39
Wed 1/22/14
W, 62-28
Thu 1/30/14
L, 53-30
Sat 2/1/14
L, 44-41
Mon 2/3/14
L, 45-32
Wed 2/5/14
L, 31-29
Sat 2/8/14
L, 35-27
Mon 2/10/14
L, 42-39
Wed 2/12/14
L, 76-34
Thu 2/13/14
W, 30-29
Sat 2/22/14
L, 47-27
2013-14 Coach Josh Campbell
2008-09 through 2013-14
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!