About UsAdmissionsAcademicsHonors AcademyStudent LifeAthleticsFine ArtsNews Donate
Oberlin 41, Lutheran West 35
By Katelin Snable  
LutheranWest.com staff
Wednesday, December 11, 2013

OBERLIN --  The Longhorns went in to this game knowing that it would be their last game with Coach Josh Campbell for a period of time while he recovered from his kidney transplant.  Wanting to get that last win for Campbell, however didn’t seem to be enough motivation for the Lady Longhorns. Oberlin defeated the Longhorns 41-35.

There was not one girl on the team who stood out and had an amazing game.  The Longhorns just seemed to float along with the flow of the game, no one taking control.  Silly mistakes, such as turnovers, were one of the major problems for the Longhorns.

Sophomore Abby DeSimpelare and senior Katelyn Thornton both led the team, each having 7 points.  LW just couldn’t seem to get their shots to fall causing them to miss out on many opportunities to get the lead.

As the game went on, the Longhorns began to work together and play as a team. Lutheran West's furious comeback in the fourth quarter was not enough, as the Longhorns fell to the Phoenix of Oberlin for the first time since February of 2010. West outscored the host Phoenix 12-5 in the fourth, but it was too little too late to overcome the 36-23 deficit
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 11/26/13
L, 57-31
Sat 11/30/13
W, 42-29
Mon 12/2/13
L, 56-31
Wed 12/4/13
W, 35-34
Sat 12/7/13
L, 46-31
Wed 12/11/13
L, 41-35
Mon 12/16/13
L, 52-36
Wed 12/18/13
L, 51-27
Sat 12/21/13
W, 43-22
2013-14 Coach Josh Campbell
2008-09 through 2013-14
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!