Columbia 42, Lutheran West 40
By Katelin Snable  
LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, January 13, 2014

COLUMBIA --  The Longhorns had the mentality they were going to fight all the way until the buzzer went off in the fourth quarter. That is exactly what they did.  LW fought the entire game and held the lead against Columbia most of the game.  The Lady Longhorns were working as a team and were doing the little things that needed to be done.

Senior Carey Smith started the game out strong with the first five points of the game.  Not only did Smith start strong but she ended strong, leading the Longhorns with 12 points.
 
The Longhorns were 11-19 at the free throw line which showed that they were attacking the basket and going up strong with many of their shots.  Attacking the basket is something that has helped the Longhorns in past games.

With 4:04 left on the clock, Columbia tied up the game. Junior Maddie Jakabcic was quite aggressive, going after any ball, wanting to get the lead back.  She eventually fouled out of the game in the fourth quarter.

The game went back and forth in those four minutes, but Columbia was the team that ended on top when the final buzzer rang. The Raiders defeated the Longhorns 42-40.  Although the Longhorns could not pull out with the win, they had the passion to play and work as a team the entire game.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 11/26/13
L, 57-31
Sat 11/30/13
W, 42-29
Mon 12/2/13
L, 56-31
Wed 12/4/13
W, 35-34
Sat 12/7/13
L, 46-31
Wed 12/11/13
L, 41-35
Mon 12/16/13
L, 52-36
Wed 12/18/13
L, 51-27
Sat 12/21/13
W, 43-22
Sat 1/4/14
W, 35-34
Wed 1/8/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 1/11/14
W, 34-19
Mon 1/13/14
L, 42-40
Wed 1/15/14
L, 43-39
Wed 1/22/14
W, 62-28
Thu 1/30/14
L, 53-30
2013-14 Coach Josh Campbell
2008-09 through 2013-14
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!