About UsAdmissionsAcademicsHonors AcademyStudent LifeAthleticsFine ArtsNews Donate
Laurel 47, Lutheran West 43
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, February 4, 2013

ROCKY RIVER --  Following a tough loss on Saturday against Brooklyn, the Lutheran West Longhorns faced the 9-6 Laurel Gators. Both teams played tough throughout the game, but in the end, it was the Gators who persevered and won with a score of 47-43.

The key to this game was defense. Laurel played a strong fourth quarter defense and was able to stop the charging Longhorns, who had brought the score within one before the start of the last quarter. In addition, the Gators were able to contain most of West’s offense, only allowing two Longhorns to reach double digits, seniors Lindsey Tomola (10) and Lindsay Thomas (12). On the other hand, LW struggled to contain the Gators’ tough guard, Nicole Felice, who carried her team with 27 points.

In the end, the Longhorns’ offense wasn’t explosive enough to overtake Laurel’s defense. The Gators forced 22 turnovers and were able to convert West mistakes into points.

The Longhorns have now dropped four games in a row and fall to a 9-10 record, their first losing record in a month.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 11/27/12
L, 62-43
Sat 12/1/12
W, 55-36
Mon 12/3/12
L, 48-40
Wed 12/5/12
L, 57-44
Mon 12/10/12
W, 51-41
Wed 12/12/12
W, 56-47
Sat 12/15/12
L, 66-63
Mon 12/17/12
L, 67-39
Wed 12/19/12
W, 53-30
Sat 1/5/13
L, 66-65
Mon 1/7/13
W, 57-55
Wed 1/9/13
W, 63-16
Sat 1/12/13
W, 60-37
Wed 1/16/13
W, 45-32
Sat 1/19/13
W, 48-30
Sat 1/26/13
L, 42-35
Wed 1/30/13
L, 36-24
Sat 2/2/13
L, 40-37
Mon 2/4/13
L, 47-43
Wed 2/6/13
W, 65-56
Sat 2/9/13
W, 63-15
Sat 2/16/13
W, 39-26
2012-13 Coach Josh Campbell
2008-09 through 2013-14
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!