Lutheran West 45, Trinity 37
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Saturday, February 23, 2013

TRINITY --  The Lutheran West Longhorns persevered in a tough post-season match-up versus Trinity, stepping up their offense to produce 17 points in the fourth quarter and take the game 45-37.

This match-up was well played in the beginning and the end, but was lacking in the middle quarters. Both teams were shut-down in the second and third quarters, with the Longhorns only scoring 11 points between the two, including a four-point second quarter that saw no field goals made. However, the drought was not detrimental to LW, as they were able to hold Trinity from completely erupting on offense and overtaking their lead.

After two pretty dry quarters for both teams, West stepped it up when it mattered. Although they only made two field goals, the team was able to make their free throws and muster up the additional 13 points that clutched the win for the Longhorns.

The lack of field goals for West kept the game close. They only shot 23.4%, but they picked up the slack with their free throws and a defense that held the Trojans. While the team tried to spread their offense, only five players actually scored. Of those five, three players were in double digits- seniors Lindsey Tomola with 10, Lindsay Thomas with 12, and Amanda Stephens with 12.

With the win, the Longhorns advance to the District Semi-finals against Gilmour.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 11/27/12
L, 62-43
Sat 12/1/12
W, 55-36
Mon 12/3/12
L, 48-40
Wed 12/5/12
L, 57-44
Mon 12/10/12
W, 51-41
Wed 12/12/12
W, 56-47
Sat 12/15/12
L, 66-63
Mon 12/17/12
L, 67-39
Wed 12/19/12
W, 53-30
Sat 1/5/13
L, 66-65
Mon 1/7/13
W, 57-55
Wed 1/9/13
W, 63-16
Sat 1/12/13
W, 60-37
Wed 1/16/13
W, 45-32
Sat 1/19/13
W, 48-30
Sat 1/26/13
L, 42-35
Wed 1/30/13
L, 36-24
Sat 2/2/13
L, 40-37
Mon 2/4/13
L, 47-43
Wed 2/6/13
W, 65-56
Sat 2/9/13
W, 63-15
Sat 2/16/13
W, 39-26
Tue 2/19/13
W, 68-24
Sat 2/23/13
W, 45-37
Thu 2/28/13
L, 48-40
2012-13 Coach Josh Campbell
2008-09 through 2013-14
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!