Lutheran West 39, Brooklyn 26
By Tim Coulter  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Saturday, February 16, 2013

BROOKLYN --  In their first game of the playoffs, the Longhorns were able to handle conference matchup Brooklyn with relative ease, despite having lost to the Hurricanes just two weeks ago. The Longhorns played a very strong first half and held off Brooklyn’s late third quarter comeback to get the win, 39-26.
 
The Longhorns dominated Brooklyn in the first half. The Longhorns put up 17 points in the first quarter to Brooklyn’s meager one point off of a free throw. The Longhorns first quarter score was only five points less than their other three quarters combined, showing the dominance the Longhorns had in the game. At halftime, the Longhorns had a solid lead of 25-9.  
 
Brooklyn made a semi-comeback in the third quarter when they cut the lead down to 10 going into the fourth quarter, 30-20. The Longhorns had begun to turn the ball over and become relaxed in their play in the third quarter after holding leads as large as 20 points. However, the minor comeback made by Brooklyn would not amount to anything as the Longhorns put up nine points while holding Brooklyn to six in the final quarter to finish the game 39-26.
 
Senior Ari Tomasula led all scorers in the game with 16 points followed by senior Lindsey Tomola who put up 10 points. With the win, the Longhorns advance to the sectional finals Saturday against Trinity. 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 11/27/12
L, 62-43
Sat 12/1/12
W, 55-36
Mon 12/3/12
L, 48-40
Wed 12/5/12
L, 57-44
Mon 12/10/12
W, 51-41
Wed 12/12/12
W, 56-47
Sat 12/15/12
L, 66-63
Mon 12/17/12
L, 67-39
Wed 12/19/12
W, 53-30
Sat 1/5/13
L, 66-65
Mon 1/7/13
W, 57-55
Wed 1/9/13
W, 63-16
Sat 1/12/13
W, 60-37
Wed 1/16/13
W, 45-32
Sat 1/19/13
W, 48-30
Sat 1/26/13
L, 42-35
Wed 1/30/13
L, 36-24
Sat 2/2/13
L, 40-37
Mon 2/4/13
L, 47-43
Wed 2/6/13
W, 65-56
Sat 2/9/13
W, 63-15
Sat 2/16/13
W, 39-26
Tue 2/19/13
W, 68-24
Sat 2/23/13
W, 45-37
Thu 2/28/13
L, 48-40
2012-13 Coach Josh Campbell
2008-09 through 2013-14
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!