About UsAdmissionsAcademicsHonors AcademyStudent LifeAthleticsFine ArtsNews Donate
Elyria Catholic 67, Lutheran West 39
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, December 17, 2012

ELYRIA CATHOLIC --  Coming off of a tough loss to Clearview on Saturday, the Longhorns knew they would have to fight hard to beat an even tougher team in Elyria Catholic. Leading the Panthers was Britney McNamara with 26 points, 24 of which came off of 3-point shots. The Panthers were able to prevail and come out with a 67-39 win.
 
Elyria Catholic has been one of the toughest teams that the Longhorns have played all season. They have very few weaknesses and are very well structured in fundamentals. On defense, the Panthers were able to fend off the Longhorns’ attempts to score, giving up three quarters with less than eight points allowed. As a team, they were able to play great on both offense and defense, which helped to secure their win.
 
The Longhorns put up a good effort against a great team, but in the end, it just wasn’t enough to come up with the upset. The team came up short but they also came away with the knowledge of what they need to work on in order to win upcoming games.
 
Senior Amanda Stephens was the lone scorer for West in double digits with 16 points. The Longhorns travel to Brooklyn on Wednesday for their last game until 2013.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 11/27/12
L, 62-43
Sat 12/1/12
W, 55-36
Mon 12/3/12
L, 48-40
Wed 12/5/12
L, 57-44
Mon 12/10/12
W, 51-41
Wed 12/12/12
W, 56-47
Sat 12/15/12
L, 66-63
Mon 12/17/12
L, 67-39
Wed 12/19/12
W, 53-30
Sat 1/5/13
L, 66-65
Mon 1/7/13
W, 57-55
2012-13 Coach Josh Campbell
2008-09 through 2013-14
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!