Lutheran West 75, Brooklyn 33
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Wednesday, February 5, 2014

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West routed visiting Brooklyn Wednesday in a makeup game from an earlier postponed game. West jumped all over the Hurricanes right from the start and continued to push their way to a 75-33 victory.

The Longhorns jumped out early and set a fast tempo that their opponents could not match. LW was disciplined and crisp in the match-up and was able to out-play the Hurricanes.

A 10-0 run by the Longhorns midway through the first quarter was really all that the team needed to put the game away. Brooklyn put in four straight baskets of their own, but West continued to push and scored 14 of the next 17 and eventually led 42-17 at the half.

LW is able to rely on their speed and skill in match-ups like these. The Longhorns have several players who are able to effectively run the court and make smart plays. This has definitely been beneficial in the team cleaning up their play and decreasing turnovers.

The team also has a lot of depth and versatility that they can depend upon. One example in this match-up is that the Longhorns, who are typically a strong 3-point shooting team, focused much of their offensive efforts inside of the arc.

Coach Alan Januzzi acknowledged this. “With our depth, rotating guys in and out, we were able to wear them down. We want to get out, want to push tempo and our kids did a good job of that.”

Junior Andrew O’Hara led all scorers with 15 points.  Senior Greg Kunze added 14 points in the win.

Lutheran West now stands at 13-3 overall and 9-2 in PAC-12 action. 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/6/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 12/7/13
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 12/10/13
W, 67-52
Fri 12/13/13
W, 60-47
Tue 12/17/13
W, 66-42
Fri 12/20/13
W, 67-39
Fri 1/3/14
W, 64-62
Sat 1/4/14
W, 76-60
Tue 1/7/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/10/14
L, 63-37
Tue 1/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/17/14
W, 65-50
Sat 1/18/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 1/21/14
W, 58-54
Fri 1/24/14
L, 63-58
Tue 1/28/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/31/14
W, 72-28
Wed 2/5/14
W, 75-33
Fri 2/7/14
W, 61-44
Tue 2/11/14
L, 72-59
Fri 2/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
2013-14 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!