Beachwood 73, Lutheran West 43
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, February 28, 2014

ROCKY RIVER --  A game against the number one ranked team in Division III at home proved too much for the Longhorns as they fell behind early and lost 73-43 to Beachwood.

While the score shows a very lopsided game, the Longhorns didn’t suffer the huge deficit until late in the game. They had been playing pretty well against a very mismatched team; they had a strong showing on defense for much of the game but really struggled on offense.

Lutheran West was able to make some big stops against the superior offense of the Bison, but could not take advantage on the offensive side to cut the lead. They definitely had issues putting the basket through the hoop both in the field and in their free throws.

The team fell behind early, including 23-11 after one quarter of play. The Longhorns started to take some momentum in the second quarter and pulled within nine. However, they never came any closer for the rest of the game as the Bison came out of the locker room and completely dominated the second half.

LW was led by junior Andrew O’Hara and senior Max Quinn with 10 points each. Senior Greg Kunze contributed 9 points in the loss.

Lutheran West finishes the season at 19-5.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/6/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 12/7/13
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 12/10/13
W, 67-52
Fri 12/13/13
W, 60-47
Tue 12/17/13
W, 66-42
Fri 12/20/13
W, 67-39
Fri 1/3/14
W, 64-62
Sat 1/4/14
W, 76-60
Tue 1/7/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/10/14
L, 63-37
Tue 1/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/17/14
W, 65-50
Sat 1/18/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 1/21/14
W, 58-54
Fri 1/24/14
L, 63-58
Tue 1/28/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/31/14
W, 72-28
Wed 2/5/14
W, 75-33
Fri 2/7/14
W, 61-44
Tue 2/11/14
L, 72-59
Fri 2/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 2/18/14
W, 90-38
Fri 2/21/14
W, 54-51
Sat 2/22/14
W, 74-25
Tue 2/25/14
W, 65-62
Fri 2/28/14
L, 73-43
2013-14 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!