Lutheran West 65, Elyria Catholic 62
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, February 25, 2014

ROCKY RIVER --  The Lutheran West Longhorns prevailed through double overtime to beat Elyria Catholic 65-62. Junior Andrew O’Hara had a layup late in the second overtime that put the Longhorns up by three and the team was able to hold onto the lead with a strong defensive showing in the last 16 seconds of the game.

Throughout the game, the Panthers threatened to run away; they led by as many as eight in the first half, seven in the third quarter, and by six early in the fourth. However, each time it seemed as if the game was over for the ‘Horns, they showed up again and made a run.

The biggest run came in the fourth quarter when the team tied the game at 55 with less than two minutes to go. Lutheran West even appeared to have the advantage as Elyria Catholic turned over the ball twice inside one minute and fouled three times.

The Longhorns ran the clock and found senior Chris Scott for a layup attempt. He was fouled with 0.2 seconds left and the chance to put the game away with his two free throw attempts. Scott, however, missed both and sent the game into overtime.

By that time in the game, the Longhorns had found their stride and had the momentum. They outplayed the tired Panthers in the two overtimes, playing good defense and forcing turnovers, and were able to come out victorious.

Andrew O’Hara had 17 points for LW.  Seniors Max Quinn (15), Greg Kunze (14), and Peter Koza (10) were also in double digits for the Longhorns. 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/6/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 12/7/13
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 12/10/13
W, 67-52
Fri 12/13/13
W, 60-47
Tue 12/17/13
W, 66-42
Fri 12/20/13
W, 67-39
Fri 1/3/14
W, 64-62
Sat 1/4/14
W, 76-60
Tue 1/7/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/10/14
L, 63-37
Tue 1/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/17/14
W, 65-50
Sat 1/18/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 1/21/14
W, 58-54
Fri 1/24/14
L, 63-58
Tue 1/28/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/31/14
W, 72-28
Wed 2/5/14
W, 75-33
Fri 2/7/14
W, 61-44
Tue 2/11/14
L, 72-59
Fri 2/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 2/18/14
W, 90-38
Fri 2/21/14
W, 54-51
Sat 2/22/14
W, 74-25
Tue 2/25/14
W, 65-62
Fri 2/28/14
L, 73-43
2013-14 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!