Clearview 72, Lutheran West 59
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, February 11, 2014

CLEARVIEW --  Junior Andrew O'Hara's 20 points wasn't enough as Lutheran West lost on the road Tuesday at Clearview. The Longhorns fell 72-59 to the Clippers in spite of a big first quarter.

Lutheran West started out strong, jumping out to a 19-12 lead. They continued to look dominant in the second quarter leading by as many as 9 points, but the Clippers made a surge of their own. Clearview outscored the Longhorns 18-12 in the second quarter and LW only managed to take a one point lead into the half.

The second quarter surge by the Clippers proved fatal. Clearview came back re-energized and with momentum. They pushed the ‘Horns in the third quarter and put the game away. West built too deep a hole coming out of the half and could not dig themselves out.

West managed 19 more shots from the floor than the Clippers, but lost due to Clearview shooting 16 more free throws (24 to 8) and a much higher percentage from the floor (53% to 36%). The Longhorns had good nights by O’Hara and senior Greg Kunze (16 points), but could not overcome their poor shooting.  The Clippers were better offensively and that’s what won them the game.

The Longhorns are now 14-4 on the season and 10-3 in conference games. West falls a game behind Columbia with three games to play in the conference season.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/6/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 12/7/13
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 12/10/13
W, 67-52
Fri 12/13/13
W, 60-47
Tue 12/17/13
W, 66-42
Fri 12/20/13
W, 67-39
Fri 1/3/14
W, 64-62
Sat 1/4/14
W, 76-60
Tue 1/7/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/10/14
L, 63-37
Tue 1/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/17/14
W, 65-50
Sat 1/18/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 1/21/14
W, 58-54
Fri 1/24/14
L, 63-58
Tue 1/28/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/31/14
W, 72-28
Wed 2/5/14
W, 75-33
Fri 2/7/14
W, 61-44
Tue 2/11/14
L, 72-59
Fri 2/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 2/18/14
W, 90-38
Fri 2/21/14
W, 54-51
2013-14 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!