Lutheran West 72, Oberlin 28
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, January 31, 2014

ROCKY RIVER --  The Longhorns struggled early with turnovers and not finishing shots, but were still able to do their job and dominate Oberlin 72-28.

Lutheran West didn’t play their best basketball of the season, but they played well enough to beat a weaker team. Oberlin struggled getting past LW’s defense and scoring and also could not defend the Longhorns. A lot of the time however, West was hurting themselves by turning over the ball or not making easy baskets.

But the Longhorns were able to overcome these issues and push to a 35-10 halftime lead. The team didn’t let up in the second half and had a big fourth quarter with 24 points to close out the game.

The team did a nice job of not playing down to the level that Oberlin was on. The Longhorns took command and controlled the pace of the game; while the Phoenix struggled to keep up, LW kept pushing.

West also had the ability to spread the ball on offense. A lot of the team members were able to get into the game and contribute by scoring. The Longhorns had 12 players record points, with senior Max Quinn leading all scorers with 11 and senior Nate Roman contributing 10.

While Friday night's contest was a bit lopsided, the Longhorns still benefitted and learned from their play. They were able to see what they need to do to always play to their level and to be able to clean up their game. These reminders will come in handy when Lutheran West hosts Brooklyn next Wednesday night in a make-up game from earlier in the season.

The Longhorns are now 12-3 overall and 8-2 in conference play.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/6/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 12/7/13
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 12/10/13
W, 67-52
Fri 12/13/13
W, 60-47
Tue 12/17/13
W, 66-42
Fri 12/20/13
W, 67-39
Fri 1/3/14
W, 64-62
Sat 1/4/14
W, 76-60
Tue 1/7/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/10/14
L, 63-37
Tue 1/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/17/14
W, 65-50
Sat 1/18/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 1/21/14
W, 58-54
Fri 1/24/14
L, 63-58
Tue 1/28/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/31/14
W, 72-28
Wed 2/5/14
W, 75-33
Fri 2/7/14
W, 61-44
Tue 2/11/14
L, 72-59
2013-14 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!