Brookside 63, Lutheran West 58
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, January 24, 2014

BROOKSIDE --  The Lutheran West Longhorns made only one field goal in the final ten-and-a-half minutes of play in Friday night’s overtime loss to Brookside, 63-58.

The Longhorns and the Cardinals played a pretty even first half with Brookside taking a 36-35 advantage into the half. The Longhorns were able to come out stronger in the third quarter and take a 54-48 lead with 5:30 left to play in regulation.

However, Brookside stepped up their defense and held West in those closing minutes of the fourth quarter to force overtime. The Cardinals erupted from there and closed out the game with a stellar defense.

Despite the Cardinals having 27 turnovers to the Longhorns’ 14, West could not do anything to take advantage of Brookside’s mishandling. On the other hand, Brookside was able to convert on offense when they did keep possession and shoot 50% from the field.

Coach Alan Januzzi commented on the loss, “I expected a great game tonight and that’s what we got. Our guys knew Brookside is a good team. We came out and played well from the start. We just didn’t finish well. Our kids haven’t been in this position before. I told them once you start winning, teams will be ready for you. We’ve had some close games and pulled them out, but tonight it just didn’t happen.”

The Longhorns can learn a lot from the game and focus their efforts on finishing games, especially late in the season.

Seniors Greg Kunze and Max Quinn had solid performances from LW as the only two in double digits with 13 points.  Senior Peter Koza added nine points in the loss.

Lutheran West falls to 11-3 on the season and 7-2 in the PAC-12.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/6/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 12/7/13
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 12/10/13
W, 67-52
Fri 12/13/13
W, 60-47
Tue 12/17/13
W, 66-42
Fri 12/20/13
W, 67-39
Fri 1/3/14
W, 64-62
Sat 1/4/14
W, 76-60
Tue 1/7/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/10/14
L, 63-37
Tue 1/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/17/14
W, 65-50
Sat 1/18/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 1/21/14
W, 58-54
Fri 1/24/14
L, 63-58
Tue 1/28/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/31/14
W, 72-28
Wed 2/5/14
W, 75-33
2013-14 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!