Lutheran West 65, Buckeye 50
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, January 17, 2014

ROCKY RIVER --  The Lutheran West men’s basketball team bounced back and handed the Buckeye Bucks their first loss in ten games. The Longhorns had a big first half showing that helped the team to clinch the 65-50 victory.

LW came out strong against their opponent; they shot the ball well from the field and kept the Bucks limited on their offensive game by stepping up on defense.

The Longhorns played a tough half-court and full-court press that forced 11 turnovers in the first quarter and 18 in the first half.

In addition, the Bucks had no way to stop senior forward Greg Kunze who scored 17 of his 28 points in the first quarter, hitting five of six 3-pointers and a pair of free throws.

Coach Alan Januzzi commented, “We’ve come out strong in the first quarter before. They got the pressure and you saw what happened. That got us going a lot. We wanted to play fast. If it was a slow game, I thought we’d struggle. But if we could get them moving, get the big guys moving up and down the floor, they’d be in trouble.”

The first eight minutes of the game really set the tone. That strong start for the Longhorns allowed them to take control and set the pace. The team accomplished their goal of playing fast and Buckeye could not keep up.

For the rest of the game, the two teams played pretty evenly with both teams scoring similar points in the remaining three quarters. This game is an example of how important a big start can be for a team and how it can win games.

Lutheran West is now 9-2 overall and 7-1 in PAC-12 action. 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/6/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 12/7/13
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 12/10/13
W, 67-52
Fri 12/13/13
W, 60-47
Tue 12/17/13
W, 66-42
Fri 12/20/13
W, 67-39
Fri 1/3/14
W, 64-62
Sat 1/4/14
W, 76-60
Tue 1/7/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/10/14
L, 63-37
Tue 1/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/17/14
W, 65-50
Sat 1/18/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 1/21/14
W, 58-54
Fri 1/24/14
L, 63-58
2013-14 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!