Gilmour 75, Lutheran West 58
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, January 14, 2014

GILMOUR --  The Lutheran West men’s basketball team dropped their second game straight in a non-conference match-up at Gilmour Academy, 75-58.

The Lancers outplayed the Longhorns in the first half and built up a lead that the team could not overcome in the second half.

Gilmour came out strong in the first quarter and jumped out ahead 21-13. They continued to roll in the second quarter and put out strong play on both sides of the ball to take a 40-23 lead at the half.

The Longhorns struggled with containing their opponents in the first half; Gilmour took a lot of shots and had a lot of opportunities to score.

LW came out of the half looking stronger and brought the game to 53-39 but fell short in the fourth quarter as the Lancers found their groove again and outscored West 22-19.

Lutheran West had trouble finding their own rhythm on the court and could not hold their opponents. Gilmour was definitely a strong team with a lot of talent and LW had difficulties in containing their players.

Despite the loss, the Longhorns had strong performances from three players who found themselves in double digits. Senior Greg Kunze led the team with 15 points. Junior Andrew O’Hara had 12 points and senior Max Quinn contributed 10 points.

The team looks to snap this streak and get back onto the winning path on Friday with a conference match-up versus Buckeye. The Bucks are currently in first place in the PAC-12 Stars Division and will be a tough team for the ‘Horns.

Lutheran West is currently 8-2 overall, 6-1 in conference action, and tied for first place in the PAC-12 Stripes Division.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 12/6/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Sat 12/7/13
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 12/10/13
W, 67-52
Fri 12/13/13
W, 60-47
Tue 12/17/13
W, 66-42
Fri 12/20/13
W, 67-39
Fri 1/3/14
W, 64-62
Sat 1/4/14
W, 76-60
Tue 1/7/14
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/10/14
L, 63-37
Tue 1/14/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Fri 1/17/14
W, 65-50
Sat 1/18/14
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Tue 1/21/14
W, 58-54
2013-14 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!