Columbia 82, Lutheran West 72
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, February 17, 2012

ROCKY RIVER -- 
The Lutheran West’s Men’s Basketball team suffered a letdown in the second half of the game versus visitor Columbia. After going into halftime with a one point lead, they watched the Raiders shoot 67 percent over the next two quarters and go home with the win.
Lutheran West lost the game in the fourth quarter; at the end of a 28 point third quarter for Columbia, the Longhorns had a 10-3 run in their favor that cut the lead down to a manageable three. However as the fourth quarter went on, they never got any closer than six points and watched as Columbia ran away with the game thanks to an eight point run.
In the second half of the game, the Raiders could do no wrong. After the half, they came back better than before and ready to redeem their play in the first two quarters where the Longhorn’s stifling defense held the Raiders to a dismal 34 percent from the floor. The Longhorns’ defense could not stop the Raiders’ explosive offense in the second half and they went on to be outscored by eleven.
Overall, Lutheran West shot 56 percent in field goals, shot 67 percent in free throws, had 23 turnovers, and recorded 22 rebounds. Columbia shot 51 percent in field goals, shot 59 percent in free throws, committed 19 turnovers, and grabbed 24 rebounds. The key of the game, however, was defense and stopping the runs; Columbia managed to do a better job on defense and was rewarded with the victory.
The Longhorns had their fair share of offense too. Senior Ricky Downer led all scorers with 28 points, 19 of which came in the second half; yet, it was not enough for LW to walk away winners. Junior Dan Hillenbrand added 14 points for the Longhorns.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 12/6/11
L, 61-49
Fri 12/9/11
L, 67-64
Tue 12/13/11
L, 67-59
Fri 12/16/11
W, 68-60
Tue 12/20/11
W, 57-44
Tue 1/3/12
W, 82-39
Fri 1/6/12
L, 53-51
Tue 1/10/12
L, 66-59
Fri 1/13/12
W, 68-65
Tue 1/17/12
L, 77-64
Fri 1/20/12
L, 68-64
Tue 1/24/12
L, 83-66
Fri 1/27/12
W, 83-58
Tue 1/31/12
L, 65-52
Fri 2/3/12
L, 59-56
Tue 2/7/12
L, 71-62
Fri 2/10/12
L, 82-69
Fri 2/17/12
L, 82-72
Tue 2/21/12
L, 63-57
Fri 2/24/12
W, 73-58
Mon 2/27/12
@MLK*
W, 54-52
2011-12 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!