Brooklyn 82, Lutheran West 69
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, February 10, 2012

BROOKLYN -- 
Lutheran West dropped another game on the road last night, completing their away games for the season with a sickly 2-8 record away from the friendly confines of the Wittrock Gymnasium. West has finally finished a brutal stretch of eight away games in their last nine games, not faring very well, having only won the first of those eight away games over Columbia. For fans, they finally get to see the team in home whites this coming Friday as they face off against the Columbia Raiders in the Hall of Fame game.
For West Friday, it was the same story as the past ones. The Longhorns fell behind early, scoring only 12 points in the opening period, and never really managed to cut into the Hurricane lead until it was too late. Too many turnovers and missed opportunities haunted the Longhorns as they found themselves down by 12 at the half and 20 at the end of the third quarter. 
Oddly enough, it was probably LW’s most balanced scoring attack of the season. Junior Chris Ranc, who has struggled with his shot all year, connected on five three-point field goals and led Lutheran West with 16 points. Junior big man Dan Hillenbrand and senior power forward Shane Elkins each had 12 points, and junior CJ Griffin added 11 points—including two three-pointers—off the bench. Only twice in the year—against Open Door and Black River—has LW scored more points.  
As good as the game was offensively, it was that bad defensively. Brooklyn had two players with over 20 points –senior Edwin Mendez with 26 and junior Alex Sommers 21. Sommers connected on five of Brooklyn’s eight three pointers in the game. 
Lutheran West has an off day next Tuesday, but will take on Columbia a week next Friday finally at home in the Hall of Fame game.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 12/6/11
L, 61-49
Fri 12/9/11
L, 67-64
Tue 12/13/11
L, 67-59
Fri 12/16/11
W, 68-60
Tue 12/20/11
W, 57-44
Tue 1/3/12
W, 82-39
Fri 1/6/12
L, 53-51
Tue 1/10/12
L, 66-59
Fri 1/13/12
W, 68-65
Tue 1/17/12
L, 77-64
Fri 1/20/12
L, 68-64
Tue 1/24/12
L, 83-66
Fri 1/27/12
W, 83-58
Tue 1/31/12
L, 65-52
Fri 2/3/12
L, 59-56
Tue 2/7/12
L, 71-62
Fri 2/10/12
L, 82-69
Fri 2/17/12
L, 82-72
Tue 2/21/12
L, 63-57
Fri 2/24/12
W, 73-58
2011-12 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!