Lutheran West 68, Columbia 65
By Robert Konstan  
LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, January 13, 2012

COLUMBIA -- 
Friday night saw distinctly different halves.  While the first half Lutheran West did not play well, it was the second half of the game that would bring them to a victory. After falling down 45-31 at the half, the Longhorns righted the ship, outscored the Raiders 38-20 in the final 16 minutes, and won the game by four. It was quite a remarkable turnaround for the Longhorns and a devastating defeat for Columbia who is in the midst of a battle with Oberlin for the top spot in the division. 
 
Finding themselves down 14 heading into the locker room at the end of the first half, Coach Alan Januzzi went right to work on changes to the defensive end of the court. West pulled off the full court pressure and started the half by playing straight up man to man defense in the half court set. They contained the Raiders offense and exposed their weaknesses in the half-court game. Lutheran West did a great job of cleaning up the defensive boards in the second half as well.
 
The offensive end was all about control. The Longhorns still pushed the ball but were able to do it with minimal turnovers. Also, in the second half Lutheran West’s offense created many more open looks and quality shots than earlier in the game.  LW outscored Columbia 21-11 in the third quarter, cutting the Raider lead to only four at the end of the third. 
 
The fourth quarter saw more of the same as LW continued to press the defensive pressure in the half court set holding the Raiders to only nine points while scoring 17 of their own.
 
Senior Shane Elkins had 18 points to pace the Longhorns. Senior Ricky Downer had 12.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 12/6/11
L, 61-49
Fri 12/9/11
L, 67-64
Tue 12/13/11
L, 67-59
Fri 12/16/11
W, 68-60
Tue 12/20/11
W, 57-44
Tue 1/3/12
W, 82-39
Fri 1/6/12
L, 53-51
Tue 1/10/12
L, 66-59
Fri 1/13/12
W, 68-65
Tue 1/17/12
L, 77-64
Fri 1/20/12
L, 68-64
Tue 1/24/12
L, 83-66
2011-12 Coach Alan Januzzi
2011-12 through 2014-15
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!