Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
1st out of 8 at Longhorn Invitational
By Jacqueline Culley  
LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, May 1, 2012

ROCKY RIVER -- 
The Lady Longhorn’s took first place in their final home meet of the 2012 season. They competed against seven teams and took home seven first places in seven events.
 
West swept the field, taking 1st in every event. Freshman Johanna Ragland threw a 34’6 ½” in the shot put while sophomore Maddie MacDowell jumped 14’ in the long jump. Junior Nicole Swanson took first in both the high jump (4’8”) and the new event, the triple jump (28’2 ½”).   Senior Becca Coyne also took two first places, one in the 100 hurdles (17.34) and again in the 300 hurdles (52.47). The 4x400 relay also earned a first place finish with a total time of 4:42.38 run by juniors Nicole Swanson and Marissa Nuti, and seniors Madi Carper and Michelle Britton.
 
Earning Lutheran West some second place finishes were freshman Gabby Schultz throwing 34’2” in the shot put and junior Nicole Swanson jumping a distance of 13’11” in the long jump. Junior Alison Henry ran a close second place in the 100 hurdles with a time of 17.72. The 300 hurdles was also a close race with junior Marissa Spelich earning second place at 53.97. The 4x100 relay also came in second with a 59.62 and was run by freshmen Marissa Turba, Kiersten Kemmet, and Alex Mercado, along with junior Alison Henry. Juniors Marissa Nuti and Spelich joined seniors Madi Carper and Becca Coyne for a 2:01 finish in the 4x200 relay. The 4x800 relay also just missed first with a time of 11:30.65 (freshman Katie Snable, sophomore Kylie Cash, junior Marissa Nuti, and senior Michelle Britton).
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/27/12
W, 83-44
Tue 4/3/12
2nd out of 4
Wed 4/4/12
1st out of 3
Wed 4/18/12
1st out of 3
Thu 4/19/12
L, 87-49
Tue 4/24/12
5th out of 7
Wed 4/25/12
2nd out of 3
Sat 4/28/12
8th out of 8
Tue 5/1/12
1st out of 8
Fri 5/4/12
7th out of 8
Tue 5/8/12
6th after 4 events
Thu 5/10/12
5th out of 12
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!