Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 36, Open Door 0
By Elizabeth Petkac  
LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, May 9, 2014

OPEN DOOR --  It was apparent from the beginning that the Lady Longhorns had more experience and skill than opponent Open Door. They won the shortened five inning game 36-0. Junior Ali Silberhorn started strong on the mound. Out of the nine batters faced, Silberhorn had four strikeouts and no walks. Relief pitcher sophomore Emily Pierce pitched an inning, striking out two of three faced. The Longhorns defense had some action and performed well having no errors in the game. They were able to keep Open Door from getting on base throughout the whole game.
 
The Longhorns accumulated 26 hits and many walks to receive 36 runs.  The highlight hit of the game came from senior Emily Mystic who had a home run as her first hit of the game.
 
Lutheran West comes home with an easy win tonight, and should prepare for a tougher game against Oberlin on Monday in their first sectional tournament game. Overall, the Lady Longhorns are now 7-8.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 4/2/14
W, 7-4
Wed 4/9/14
W, 8-0
Thu 4/10/14
L, 13-0
Wed 4/16/14
L, 8-4
Thu 4/17/14
W, 5-4
Tue 4/22/14
L, 1-0
Wed 4/23/14
L, 7-1
Thu 4/24/14
L, 5-2
Fri 5/2/14
W, 17-13
Mon 5/5/14
L, 10-0
Tue 5/6/14
L, 12-2
Wed 5/7/14
W, 15-7
Thu 5/8/14
L, 5-1
Fri 5/9/14
W, 36-0
Mon 5/12/14
Postponed
Tue 5/13/14
L, 5-2
Wed 5/14/14
Postponed
2014 Coach Ellis Stevens
2013 through 2016
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!